Our Board of Management and Executive Committee

Click on the image below to read the biography of the respective Board member

Our Board of Management and Executive Committee (photo)
Greg Poux-Guillaume Karen-Marie Katholm Michael Friede Joëlle Boxus Dr. Hilka Schneider Maarten de Vries
Lorem ipsum (photo)

Greg Poux-Guillaume

CEO and Chair of the Board of Management and Executive Committee

(1970, FR)

Greg joined AkzoNobel in November 2022 as CEO and Chair of the Board of Management, bringing with him 30 years of experience in various industrial businesses and private equity. He was previously CEO of Sulzer (2015 to 2022) and before that, CEO of GE Grid Solutions. Greg is Chair of the Board of Directors of medmix Ltd., a publicly listed MedTech company in Switzerland. He’ll step down as Chair as per the Annual General Meeting of medmix Ltd. in April 2023, but may stand for re-election as a non-executive member of the Board of Directors.

Lorem ipsum (photo)

Karen-Marie Katholm

Chief Integrated Supply Chain Officer and member of the Executive Committee

(1967, DK)

Karen-Marie joined AkzoNobel in September 2021, having held various global leadership roles across sourcing, supply chain and operations. Before moving to AkzoNobel, she was Integrated Operations Leader for DuPont Nutrition & Biosciences – having joined Danisco A/S (later DuPont) in 2009. Karen-Marie has more than 20 years of experience working at various large and international food manufacturers, such as Orkla, United Biscuits and Arla Foods. She’s also a non-executive member of the Boards of Directors of NTG Nordic Transport Group A/S and Chr. Augustinus Fabrikker.

Lorem ipsum (photo)

Michael Friede

Chief Commercial Officer – Performance Coatings and member of the Executive Committee*

(1980, DE)

Michael joined AkzoNobel in July 2021 as Chief Commercial Officer – Performance Coatings. Before that, he worked in various countries within the chemical industry for companies such as Covestro and Bayer AG. He held roles in general management, sales and marketing, procurement and within corporate functions. In September 2021, Michael was appointed to the Board of Pearl Polyurethane Systems LLC as a non-executive member.

* Until March 1, 2023

Lorem ipsum (photo)

Joëlle Boxus

Chief Human Resources Officer and member of the Executive Committee

(1971, BE)

Joëlle rejoined AkzoNobel as Chief Human Resources Officer in 2020. She had previously been global HR leader for AkzoNobel’s former Specialty Chemicals business. Joëlle managed the separation of Specialty Chemicals before becoming part of the Executive Committee of the newly established company. In 2018, she returned to Belgium to become Chief Human Resources Officer at Etex N.V. before rejoining AkzoNobel.

Lorem ipsum (photo)

Dr. Hilka Schneider

General Counsel and member of the Executive Committee

(1970, DE)

Hilka joined AkzoNobel in January 2022. With expertise in M&A, corporate law and governance, she worked for various industries as an external lawyer, and then in-house at DHL and Demag Cranes (now Konecranes). Before joining AkzoNobel, Hilka was Group Director Legal, Compliance and Board Office and a member of the Group Executive Committee at travel company TUI.

Lorem ipsum (photo)

Maarten de Vries

CFO and member of the Board of Management and Executive Committee

(1962, NL)

Maarten joined AkzoNobel in 2018. He spent the previous three years as CFO at Intertrust Group and TNT Express. He was a member of the Management Board of Intertrust Group and the Executive Board of TNT Express.