Nomination Committee

The Nomination Committee consists of four members, following the appointment of Mr. Andersen as Nomination Committee chairman in June 2018 and after Mr. Burgmans stepped down in April 2018. During the year, the Nomination Committee was chaired by Mr. Burgmans, until he was succeeded by Mr. Andersen in June. The other members of the Nomination Committee are Mr. Grote, Dr. Kirby and Mr. Verwaayen. The Nomination Committee held three meetings in 2018. The attendance record of the members of the Nomination Committee can be seen in the attendance chart.

Coated multihull yacht (photo)

The world’s first diamond coated multihull yacht made its debut in 2018. It was achievable thanks to a partnership which combined our advanced color and application expertise with a diamond coating technique developed by Jean Boulle Luxury. Already used on private aircraft and luxury cars, the Sun King® Diamond Coating debuted in the world of multihull yachts with the 40 Open Sunreef Power. The partnership involves transforming ethically sourced, natural diamonds into a high quality coating which gives a dazzling finish to almost any surface.

Succession matters

As referred to under Supervisory Board activities, the third term of Mrs. Peggy Bruzelius ends in 2019. The search initiated by the Supervisory Board was managed by the Nomination Committee.

Nomination Committee main activities 2018

Q1 activities 2018

  • Supervisory Board succession planning
  • Board of Management succession planning
  • Review (re)appointment scheme

Q2 & Q3 activities 2018

  • Update skills matrix
  • Review Supervisory Board profile

Q4 activities 2018

  • Review composition of Supervisory Board
  • Supervisory Board succession planning

Board of Management and executive succession

During 2018, the Nomination Committee was consulted and gave its advice regarding the following appointments by the CEO to the Executive Committee: Mrs. Maëlys Castella as Chief Corporate Development Officer and Mrs. Isabelle Deschamps as General Counsel.

Supervisory Board succession

An additional aspect of the Nomination Committee’s work is to review the Supervisory Board appointment schedule and make relevant recommendations.

During 2018, the Nomination Committee continued to discuss the size, structure and composition of the Supervisory Board. Following a thorough internal and external search, with the assistance of an independent and well reputed search firm, the Nomination Committee was able to recommend to the Supervisory Board the nomination of Mr. Nils Smedegaard Andersen for consideration by the shareholders at the of April 26, 2018.

The Supervisory Board has updated its skills matrix, as shown below. The skills matrix, full details of the current Supervisory Board composition, the schedule of Supervisory Board succession and the profiles of the Supervisory Board members can also be found on our website:

Supervisory Board skills and profiles


N.S. Andersen

P. Bruzelius

S. Clark

B. Grote

M. Jaski

P. Kirby

D. Sluimers

P. Thomas

B. Verwaayen


Consumer Goods end-user segment





Industrial end-user segment


Buildings and Infrastructure end-user segment







Transportation end-user segment



(International) business, commerce, finance/economics

Scientific/Information technology experience





Public sector experience









Management experience

Business strategy planning

Investor relations

Manufacturing experience





Supply chain/logistics experience






Social, environmental or sustainability experience


Finance expert







Four or less external directorships

Dutch/EU national

Non-EU national









Pensions experience








Business-to-business sales experience







R&D experience






Legal experience








Industrial/employment relations









Risk management











Nomination Committee evaluation

As with the Remuneration Committee, the Nomination Committee’s evaluation of performance and effectiveness formed part of the overall Supervisory Board evaluation undertaken during 2018.


Annual General Meeting of shareholders.