Our Board of Management and Executive Committee

[Click on the image below to read the biography of the respective Board member]

Our Board of Management and Executive Committee (photo)
Thierry VanlanckerDavid AllenMarten BooismaSven DumoulinWerner FuhrmannRuud JoostenHans De Vriese

Thierry Vanlancker*

CEO and Chairman of the Board of Management and the Executive Committee
(1964, Belgian)

Thierry Vanlancker joined AkzoNobel in 2016, bringing with him more than 28 years of experience in the chemicals industry. He led operations in polymers, performance coatings and chemicals at DuPont and was President of Fluoroproducts at Chemours. Thierry has lived and worked in Switzerland, the US, Germany, France and Belgium. He holds a degree in Chemical Engineering from the University of Gent.

*Designated CEO and Chairman of the Board of Management by the Supervisory Board on July 19, 2017. Formally appointed by shareholders on September 8, 2017.

David Allen

Chief Supply Chain Officer and member of the Executive Committee
(1954, American)

David Allen joined AkzoNobel as Head of the Integrated Supply Chain in 2013 and by early 2014 also led the Research, Development and Innovation function. He was previously Chief Operations Officer for China National Bluestar Group and worked for General Electric Company and Sabic in various executive operations, manufacturing and supply chain roles. He is an engineer by training and holds a Mechanical Engineering degree from Georgia Institute of Technology.

Marten Booisma

Chief Human Resources Officer and member of the Executive Committee
(1966, Dutch)

Marten Booisma joined AkzoNobel as Chief Human Resources Officer in 2013. He spent the previous six years in this position at Royal Ahold. Having graduated from the University of Amsterdam with a Master of Science in Politics, he started his career in HR at Shell and Unilever. He then moved on to assume various senior management positions at Ahold.

Sven Dumoulin

General Counsel and member of the Executive Committee
(1970, Dutch)

Sven Dumoulin joined AkzoNobel as General Counsel in 2010 and holds a PhD in Law from the University of Groningen. Previously he was Group Secretary at Unilever. Outside AkzoNobel, he is a member of various legal professional associations in both the Netherlands and abroad. Sven holds a professorship in company law at the Vrije Universiteit in Amsterdam.

Werner Fuhrmann*

CEO of Specialty Chemicals and member of the Executive Committee
(1953, German)

Werner Fuhrmann joined the Executive Committee in 2011. He was previously Head of Integrated Supply Chain, and before that was Managing Director of the company’s Industrial Chemicals business, a position he first took up in 2005. He was Chairman of the Dutch Association of the Chemicals Industry (VNCI) from 2010 to 2015. Werner served as a Board member of both the European Chemicals Association and American Chemistry Council.

*Resigned from the Executive Committee on January 2, 2018, following internal separation of Specialty Chemicals.

Ruud Joosten

Chief Operating Officer and member of the Executive Committee
(1964, Dutch)

After graduating from the Vrije Universiteit in Amsterdam with a Master’s in Economics, Ruud Joosten joined AkzoNobel in 1996 as International Marketing Manager for Decorative Paints. Since then, he has held various management positions within Decorative Paints and Specialty Chemicals, including BU Manager for Decorative Paints North and Eastern Europe and Managing Director of Pulp and Performance Chemicals.

Hans De Vriese*

Interim CFO
(1964, Belgian)

Hans De Vriese joined AkzoNobel as Group Controller in 2009. Prior to joining the company, he was CFO Asia Pacific for General Motors.

*Interim CFO from September to December 2017.

Maarten de Vries*

CFO and member of the Board of Management and the Executive Committee
(1962, Dutch)

Maarten de Vries joined AkzoNobel in January 2018. He spent the previous three years as CFO at Intertrust Group and TNT Express. He was a member of the Management Board of Intertrust Group and of the Executive Board of TNT Express. From 2011 to 2014, Maarten was CEO of TP Vision. Prior to this he held various senior positions at Royal Philips Electronics, including Chief Information Officer and Chief Purchasing Officer at Group Management Committee level.

*Offically appointed CFO as of January 1, 2018, succeeding Maëlys Castella.