The Supervisory Board has established three committees: the Audit Committee, the Nomination Committee and the Remuneration Committee. Each committee has a charter describing its role and responsibilities and the manner in which it discharges its duties and reports to the full Supervisory Board. These charters are included in the Supervisory Board Rules of Procedure, published on the company’s corporate website. The committees report on their deliberations and findings to the full Supervisory Board. The committee members’ attendances in 2012 are shown in the Report of the Supervisory Board.

Audit Committee

The Audit Committee assists the Supervisory Board in overseeing the quality and integrity of the accounting, auditing, reporting and risk management practices of the company, as well as the company’s compliance with legal and regulatory requirements, the qualifications, performance and independence of the external auditor and the performance of the internal audit function. The chairman of the Audit Committee is Mr. Van den Brink. The Audit Committee consists of three other members – Mr. Hughes, Mrs. Bruzelius and Sir Peter Ellwood – all of whom have accounting and financial management expertise. Sir Peter Ellwood became a member of the Audit Committee on May 1, 2012. As a rule, the CEO, CFO, Corporate Director Control, Corporate Director Internal Audit and the lead partner of the external auditor, KPMG, attend all regular meetings. After every Audit Committee meeting, members hold a separate meeting with only the internal auditor present, and a separate meeting with only the external auditor present. Other members of management attend as and when requested. The General Counsel reports to the Audit Committee on compliance related matters at every regular meeting of the committee. The chairman of the Audit Committee initiates the evaluation of the functioning of the Audit Committee and its individual members, without the Board of Management being present.

Nomination Committee

The Nomination Committee focuses on drawing up selection criteria and appointment procedures for Supervisory Board and Board of Management members. The committee assesses the size and composition of both Boards, evaluates the functioning of the individual members, makes proposals for appointments and reappointments and supervises the Board of Management on the selection of senior management. The committee also considers nominations of Executive Committee members who are not also a member of the Board of Management. When selecting candidates for appointment to the Supervisory Board, account is taken of the need for a balanced representation of knowledge of the markets in which the company operates and the need for insight from different markets and non-operational areas. Higher female and diversity representation are also actively being pursued. The Nomination Committee consists of four members and is chaired by Mr. Vuursteen. Ms. Baldauf, Mr. Verwaayen and Mr. Burgmans are the other members of the Nomination Committee.

Remuneration Committee

The Remuneration Committee is responsible for making proposals to the Supervisory Board on the remuneration policy for the Board of Management, for overseeing the remuneration of its individual members and the remaining members of the Executive Committee and for overseeing the remuneration schemes for AkzoNobel executives involving the company’s shares. The committee conducts the periodic review of the performance of the members of the Board of Management and the Executive Committee. The committee also reviews the remuneration package of the members of the Supervisory Board and prepares proposals for adjustments if necessary. The Remuneration Committee consists of four members and is chaired by Mr. Burgmans. Ms. Baldauf, Mr. Verwaayen and Mr. Vuursteen are the other members of the committee.

Baroness Bottomley stepped down as a Supervisory Board member of the company, and as a member of the Nomination and Remuneration Committees, after the 2012 AGM. Sir Peter Ellwood stepped down as a member of the Nomination and Remuneration Committees on May 1, 2012. Ms. Baldauf and Mr. Verwaayen replaced them.

Further information on the work of the committees is set out in the Report of the Supervisory Board, while details of the remuneration of all Supervisory Board members are set out in Note 21 of the Financial statements.

Keyword Search
Copyright © 2013 Akzo Nobel N.V.